Fearless

Image

Fearless

I have so many dreams, so many goals, so many things I want to do and see in my lifetime…and yet for so many years I’ve allowed fear to hold me back from flying with them. Fear of rejection, criticism, not being good enough, succeeding, failing, “what will the neighbors think”, being laughed at, being considered a freak…and I’m sure fear of much more! But this year I’ve decided that fear has taken up enough space in my short and precious life. This year it’s time to be FEARLESS! To allow myself to dream the big, scary dreams of soaring with the giants! Of becoming all that I’ve wanted to be since I was a child and beyond. The picture above is my first public sharing of art that I’ve painted since I was in middle school. I remember receiving my first art scar after being told my fruit didn’t look anything like the fruit that we were suppose to draw. I was about 10 years old. I’m 44 now. It’s taken me 34 years to start to get over that experience. To allow myself to be an artist. Even while creating other types of art through the years I never allowed myself to be an artist. Because, of course, a ‘real’ artist would be able to draw fruit that looked like fruit. I am now learning differently. A ‘real’ artist, in my opinion, expresses and explores their soul through whatever medium sings to them at the moment- dance, paint, words, theatre, fabric, paper, wood… A ‘real’ artist lights the world up with their willingness to go to their core and ignite a fire that burns bright within them, illuminating the world around them. Whether they choose to share their creations or keep it to themselves. The light touches us all, making the world a better place.

And while this all may seem really stupid to some people, that it’s taken me so long to get over that one experience, there are many others who I know relate big time, in a super big way! Whether it’s art, athletics, beauty, writing, crafting, mothering, business, or any thing else that has touched our souls at it’s deepest core when commented on. Fearing to allow our souls to soar in their beauty and light is often the casualty of well meaning, and not so well meaning, comments and criticism. Especially on children, but also on us as adults.

So this year I’ve made a commitment to myself to move beyond the fear that has kept me quiet for so many years. I’m taking an art technique class right now which is where my “Fearless” painting was born from. I am now writing a blog, this blog, with MY name on it. I’m being myself, open and honest to what’s in my heart. These are my first two big steps this year with lots of little ones thrown in for good measure.

I’m excited to see where this year’s journey will lead! I hope you’ll come along with me and explore what your world looks like with a little less fear in it. What will you do to let your soul sing and shine this year?

12 responses »

  1. Mychele, I’m so proud of you for taking this amazing first step in your year of FEARLESS discovery! Can’t wait to see and read where the journey takes you. xoxo
    P.S. No “good opinion of others” here, but for what its worth — I adore that piece of art.
    Leap and the Net will appear, baby!

    • You know you are a big part of my taking this leap! This is a big year for both of us to grow outside of our ‘boxes’ and see the world anew. And I never mind hearing your GOOP 😉

  2. This brought a tear to my eye. I’m right here with ya Sista’ . This is our year. And you’re a fantastic artist!

  3. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing your art and your heart. I can relate so well as I am sure many others will also. I think many of us have all sorts of gifts that we keep hidden inside out of fear. We are always waiting for that magical moment from external sources to say “come out,show the world your amazing ness”. Thank you for showing that that voice sometimes has to come from within. I love your fearlessness!

    • “that voice sometimes has to come from within.” Very well said, Kimberly! I’ve spent many years waiting to be ‘discovered’ whether consciously or not. I think you’re right on, it’s up to US to dig deep within and ‘discover’ ourselves. And then share our light with the world!

Leave a comment